Breaking up is hard to do. Even when it should be easy.

Well, I tried. I did. For several hours, in fact. I was worried about finishing the project, but for all the wrong reasons. I still don’t think it’s going to happen.

You may be wondering what I’m talking about. After having spent college + 1.5 years in New England, I came back to South Carolina in 2008. Shortly after arriving, I started a project that was eventually to become part travel writing, part memoir, part fiction, part exorcising of ghosts. To clarify, here’s the premise: Girl dates boy. Girl breaks up with boy. Boy rapes girl. Girl has small nervous breakdown and drags friend on a cross-country road trip. Hijinks, of some manner, ensue. There’s a Backstory, and seven chapters, each titled with the motto of the state they’re spending most of their time in – which also happens to be thematically linked to what’s going on. Alternating with the present-tense road trip snippets are bits of plot, also relating to said state mottos. Maybe I’ll post some of it. It’s fun.

Actually, it isn’t. Which is why I can’t finish it. I was afraid that, three years later, I wouldn’t be in the same head space as I was when I began it, and that if I picked it up again, it would seem inconstant. I am, in fact, decidedly not in the same head space as I was, and I discovered yesterday that that is a hell of a relief. As I mentioned in the previous post, I was thinking about gutting it, or just junking it for parts. I’m not sure I can do either, now. A lot of it hits on dark, heavy feelings inside me and after those couple hours yesterday, my mood was not a shiny one. I think it’s a great idea, I think, more importantly, that it’s a really cool format, but there’s so much of it that still rankles that I just can’t do it. Maybe years from now. Maybe I could gut it – but it would be more of a complete rewrite – and that makes me sad. I think it could be so good.

Look, novella, it’s not you – it’s me. I think we should see other people for a while.

So I’ve decided to expand my horizons a little. I’ve also had some thoughts regarding my tirade about what selling out actually is, and I’m thinking, if I look at them like writing exercises, I won’t feel so bad. Right? Sure, right. Whatever. And if that writing exercise happens to be 85,000 words with some nice rising action and characterization, what the hell.

Right?

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Breaking up is hard to do. Even when it should be easy.

  1. Amber-Lee says:

    Maybe that’s my problem. I’m in a new headspace about every 3 days.

Leave a Reply

