Tuesday Plugs (8/1 edition)

New weekly segment! Since Tuesday is new release day, I will be taking some time on Monday nights to give the highlights of tomorrow’s releases, as well as congratulations to folks who have made it onto bestseller list(s).

First! Congratulations to Jim Butcher, who has once again made it onto the New York Times Bestseller list with GHOST STORY. If you haven’t read this one, seriously guys, do it. I can’t recommend the Dresden Files enough. His world-building is immaculate, and Harry is good, clean (okay, maybe not so much), smart-assed fun. Plus explosions!

The Barnes & Noble Bestseller list also features GHOST STORY at #1 and A DANCE WITH DRAGONS (George R.R. Martin) at #2. I’ll tell you, it makes me all warm and fuzzy to see fantasy take the top spots.

And now for new releases – Rob Thurman’s sci-fi thriller CHIMERA finally gets its follow-up, BASILISK, out tomorrow in paperback. Check out the SFRevu. I’m about halfway through CHIMERA myself, and it’s excellent. I love me some Rob Thurman, and I know she’s proud of these books. So check them out!

Another one that’s got me intrigued is Mark Lawrence’s PRINCE OF THORNS. It’s described as “revenge fantasy” and Robin Hobb gave it a great blurb. I’m not sure what revenge fantasy is, but it gives me the same vibe as Brent Weeks’ Night Angel Trilogy gave off, and I freaking loved those books. (Mr. Weeks’ newest, THE BLACK PRISM, is out in paperback on August 23. It’s okay; I’ll remind you.)

Others:
ANOTHER KIND OF DEAD (Dreg City #3), Kelly Meding (paperback)
DOWNPOUR (Greywalker #6), Kat Richardson (trade cloth)
HOME IMPROVEMENT: UNDEAD EDITION, edited by Charlaine Harris; featuring stories by Melissa Marr, Patricia Briggs, Heather Graham (trade cloth)

And for those of you who are into paranormal romance, check this series out:
BLOODHUNT (Sentinel Wars #5), Shannon K. Butcher (paperback)

I can’t help but think I’m forgetting something. Well, this ought to keep you occupied for at least a week! Happy reading!

This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

