Tuesday plugs (8/30 edition)

I know it’s Sunday. I also know I missed last week. Lay off, will ya?

A lot of good things are coming out in the next couple of weeks. Here are a few that should take you to your local bookstore (local/independent? please?) and pique your interest.

Harry Connolly‘s third book, CIRCLE OF ENEMIES, is out on the 30th. If you haven’t read these books, you need to get on that. Right. Now. They’re the ones, you know, that Jim Butcher said made him step up his game. They’re awesome. Face-punchingly awesome. There’s no waggling between paranormal romance and urban fantasy in these. If you like the meatgrindery Dresden books and Richard Kadrey‘s Sandman Slim books, you’ll like these. They are wonderful. (CHILD OF FIRE is #1, and #2 is GAME OF CAGES. Tell your local bookseller you want them in so you can buy them.

THE HOUR OF DUST AND ASHES, Charlie Madigan #3, is also out. I haven’t read any of Kelly Gay‘s books, but I did pick up the first one the other day. They look good, and they’ve been officially recommended by one of the commenters on my Search: “books like the Dresden Files” post. And because the people that hit that blog were generally pretty awesome and correct, I’ll take that chance. Again: tell your booksellers you want to see Kelly Gay in your sci-fi section. (And she lives in North Carolina. Kelly Gay, come do a book signing at my B&N in Columbia, SC!)

Caitlin Kittredge has a new one out in her Black London series, DEVIL’S BUSINESS. I’ll be honest: I haven’t read these, but I want to. There’s a lot I haven’t read, frankly, and that makes me sad. Kittredge’s is another series that Butcher has plugged; I think he’s blurbed a few of her books, as well.

Richelle Mead‘s newest Succubus installment, SUCCUBUS REVEALED, is also out on Tuesday. These books are astonishingly popular, and for some reason, in the fiction section of my store. Don’t understand you, Barnes & Noble.

THE YEAR’S BEST DARK FANTASY AND HORROR, 2011 is headed our way as well. I’m so ridiculously excited over this anthology that I can’t even keep it together. You’re looking at Holly Black, Neil Gaiman, Simon R. Green, Tanith Lee, Joe R. Lansdale, and – AND – a new 36,000-word novella from George R.R. Martin set in the Ice & Fire universe. Squee, amirite??

This entry was posted in Books, Fun Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

